User Tools

Site Tools


misc:computer_tips:home

Table of Contents

Computer Tips

OS X

Keyboard Shortcuts

Editing
Backspace Delete Delete (add Fn for forward, add ⌥ for whole word)
Page Break ⌘+Return
Move an object slowly ⌥+Arrows
Emojis Control+⌘+Space
Desktop
Command Center. Control+↑
Screenshot Area Shift+⌘+4
Invert Colours Control+⌥+⌘+8
Cycle Through Apps ⌘+Tab (add Shift to reverse).
Drag Window1) Control+⌘ + Mouse Grab
Files:
Copy a File Mouse+⌥
Create a File Link Mouse+⌥+⌘
Send File to Trash ⌘+Delete

LibreOffice

Installing

Formatting

When printing large documents that will be kept in a duo-tang or binder, set alternating margins:

  • Format → Page Styles… → Page →
    • Margins →
      • Inner: 3.00 cm
      • Outer: 1.00 cm
    • Layout Settings → Page layout: Mirrored

$\LaTeX{}$ Plugin

LibreOffice has a formula editor to typeset math, but the $\LaTeX{}$ plugin is much more user friendly and powerful. The syntax is also ubiquitous and used on many other platforms. The downside is that a full install of $\LaTeX{}$ must also be installed on the computer.

  • Install MacTex (about 6.0 GB)
  • To update MacTex:
    • go to Aplications/TeX/ and run TeX Live Utility
    • right click on one of the packages and select Update All Packages
  • Install the LibreOffice TeXmath extension, which allows LibreOffice to use the $\LaTeX{}$ engine installed above.
  • In LibreOffice, click on the $\pi{}$ button at the top right corner of the toolbar and add these packages to the Preamble, and Save Global:
    \usepackage[utf8]{inputenc} %useful to type directly diacritic characters
    \usepackage{longdivision}
    \usepackage{cancel}
    \usepackage{fourier}
    \usepackage{ulem}
    \usepackage{xcolor}
    \usepackage{xlop}
    \usepackage{xfrac}
    \usepackage{musicography}
  • Click on the screwdriver and wrench icon and under Options select the XeLaTeX Compiler.

Saving and Version Control

Add your name as a document author / editor:

  • Linux: Tools → Options → LibreOffice → User Data → First/last name/initials
  • OS X: LibreOffice → Preferences → User Data → First/last name/initials

To save a version:

  • File → Versions…
  • Save New Version.
  • Write a brief Version Comment describing the changes made.

Track Changes (see here):

  • Edit → Track Changes…

Comment:

  • Highlight text → Right mouse click → Insert Comment
1)
  • To activate Drag Window, open Terminal and paste:
    defaults write -g NSWindowShouldDragOnGesture -bool true
  • To Deactivate:
    defaults delete -g NSWindowShouldDragOnGesture
  • Restart Computer
See https://superuser.com/questions/125164/use-option-to-drag-windows-mac-os
misc/computer_tips/home.txt · Last modified: by admin